
 
State of Alabama 

 

Abandoned and Derelict Vessel (ADV) 
Legislative and Administrative Review - 2015  
 

Definition of a Vessel 
Alabama state statutes define a “vessel” in the following manner under Ala. Code § 33-5-3(1):   

Vessel: Every description of watercraft, other than a seaplane, capable of being used as 
a means of transportation on the water, but such term shall not include vessels 12 feet 
in length or less when used solely on farm ponds of less than 50 acres in size. 

Definition of an Abandoned and/or Derelict Vessel  
Alabama statutes do not provide an explicit definition for abandoned or derelict vessels.  

Formal State Program for Abandoned Vessels  
There is not a formal program in the State of Alabama that addresses abandoned or derelict 
vessels and no laws exist that address the designation process, removal or disposal 
requirements of these vessels.  

Designation of Abandoned and/or Derelict Vessels 
Alabama does not have existing statutes that address the designation of abandoned or derelict 
vessels. The State does require the owner of a vessel to notify the Department of Conservation 
and Natural Resources within 15 days if they destroy or abandon a vessel, at which point the 
certificate will be terminated by the state (Ala. Code § 33-5-16(a)).  

Responsibility for Removal of Abandoned or Derelict Vessels 
Alabama statutes do not address who is responsible for removing abandoned or derelict 
vessels. If a vessel is found adrift it can be removed and taken into custody by the person who 
found the vessel adrift (Ala. Code § 35-13-1). Under Ala. Code § 33-1-33, the person or agency 
who places a derelict vessel, or one that is liable to pollute, in a harbor is responsible for 
removing the vessel after being served with a removal order by the port authority (see Specific 
Location Factors or Limitations section below).    

Removal and Disposal Requirements/Guidelines  
Alabama does not have laws that specifically address the removal or disposal of abandoned or 
derelict vessels. Vessels that are found adrift are covered under Alabama Code (§ 35-13-1) of 
the state’s salvage laws, which state that any person may take up and secure “all property 
adrift”. 

Any person that finds and takes property that was found adrift must, within two days of the 
taking, present the property to the district court. If the district court determines that the 
property is worth over $30.00, an order of appraisement must be issued to three independent 
freeholders or householders, who, after being duly sworn to provide fair estimates, must 
describe and appraise the property then certify the value to the court. If the value of the 
property does not exceed $30.00, the court is required to make the appraisement and provide 
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a description of the property (Ala. Code § 35-13-2(a)). Once the property has been appraised 
the court must provide a copy of the appraisement and description to the taker (Ala. Code § 35-
13-2(b)). 

If the appraised value of the property is over $30, the taker is required to provide notice, within 
10 days of the appraisal, once a week for three successive weeks in a newspaper published 
nearest to the place where the property was taken. (Ala. Code § 35-13-3(a)). The notice must 
state: 

• the name of the taker;  
• the time and place of taking;  
• a description of the property, with its marks, and;  
• the name of the owner, if known;  
• its appraised value;  
• the location where the property is secured or deposited. 

Pursuant to Ala. Code § 35-13-3(b), if the property taken is worth less than $30.00 then a notice 
must be posted at the next steamboat landing within 5 days of the taking, if the property was 
taken up on a navigable stream; otherwise, the notice must be posted at the nearest public 
place. The owner of the property may, upon notifying the taker or person in possession and 
proving their ownership claim to the court, obtain an order from the court that will allow them 
to reclaim the property providing they pay any legal costs and other charges that were incurred 
(Ala. Code § 35-13-4). 

The owners must file their claim within specific time limits as provided for in Ala. Code § 35-13-
7, which are dependent on the value of the property. If the property is appraised at $30.00 or 
less they must file within three months of the appraisal. They must file within six months if the 
value is between $30.00 and $100 and if the value is over $100.00 they have one. If they fail to 
file a claim within the time allotted, the right to the property becomes vested in the taker. 

Under Ala. Code § 35-13-5a, the taker is entitled to compensation from the owner for the 
property, which is based on a percentage of the appraised value as follows: 25 percent on 
property appraised at under $30; 20 percent for property valued between $30 and $100; 15 
percent for values between $100 and $500; 10 percent between $500 and $1,000; and 5 
percent for property valued over $1,000. The taker is also entitled to reimbursement for costs 
incurred by them for applicable court fees, advertisements (if published in a newspaper), and 
reasonable compensation for the keeping, if it was necessary to preserve the property from loss 
or injury (Ala. Code § 35-13-5(b)). 

If the taker or the person in possession of the property fails to deliver the property to the 
owner after receiving the court order and reimbursement for any associated expenses, the 
owner has the right to recover the property. If the taker does not release the property they 
forfeit, to any person bringing an action for the same, double the appraised value of the 
property (Ala. Code § 35-13-8). If the taker or any person conceals, destroys, injures, obliterates 
or defaces any mark, or disposes of, or carries beyond the state any property taken up adrift, 
before the expiration of the time allowed for the owner to prove his property, they will be 
liable to the owner for the extent of the injury sustained (Ala. Code § 35-13-9).  
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Differences between Commercial and Recreational Vessel Treatment 
Alabama statutes do not distinguish between commercial and recreational vessels under state 
salvage laws.   

Vessel Size Requirements or Limits  
No vessel size requirements of limits are address in Alabama Code. 

Funding Sources 
The State of Alabama does not have a dedicated funding source for addressing abandoned or 
derelict vessels. 

Lead State Agency  
The Alabama State Port Authority has jurisdiction over the state’s ports and administers the 
laws under Title 33 Navigation. 

 Email: epm@asdd.com 
Phone: 251-441-7085 
Website: http://www.asdd.com/ 

The Department of Conservation and Natural Resources has authority to enforce mooring 
restrictions on state-owned bottom lands, through the Marine Patrol. 

Email: through website 
Phone: 334-517-2950 
Website: http://www.outdooralabama.com/ 

Insurance Requirements for Vessels  
Boat insurance is not required in the State of Alabama. 

Specific Location Factors, Limitations and Additional Information 
In Alabama it is unlawful to place a “dangerous vessel” in a harbor in the state. Under Ala. Code 
§ 33-1-33, any owner or agency in control of a vessel that is anchored, moored, or made fast to 
the shore illegally, in a bad state of repair, liable to sink, liable to pollute, or deemed to be 
derelict shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor if they fail to remove it from the harbor to a 
designated place when directed to do so by the port authority. A Class A misdemeanor can 
result in a fine of up to $5,000 and a jail sentence of up to one year. Each 48 hour period that 
elapses after the order to remove the vessel was served may result in an additional 
misdemeanor charge being assessed. All resulting fines are paid into the operating fund of the 
port authority. 

In addition, it is unlawful for vessel operators, without riparian access rights, to moor their 
vessel on state-owned submerged water bottoms adjacent to corresponding upland locations 
for any period of time beyond any immediate water transit needs that require a temporary stop 
(Ala. Admin. Code r. 220-4-.08). 

Prioritization Scheme  
Alabama does not have a statutory prioritization scheme for removing abandoned or derelict 
vessels. 

 

http://www.asdd.com/
http://www.outdooralabama.com/
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Legislation and Administrative Codes 
The laws and administrative codes referenced in this document can be accessed from: 

Code of Alabama (2014): 
http://alisondb.legislature.state.al.us/alison/codeofalabama/1975/coatoc.htm 

Alabama Administrative Code (2014): 
http://www.alabamaadministrativecode.state.al.us/alabama.html 
 

 These Legislative and Administrative Reviews are intended for informational purposes only. They are summaries and not meant to be legal references, and 
should not be used as such. See the official state statutes and administrative codes for current state laws and rules and regulations for any legal references.     

 

http://alisondb.legislature.state.al.us/alison/codeofalabama/1975/coatoc.htm
http://www.alabamaadministrativecode.state.al.us/alabama.html

