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Definition of a Vessel 
Connecticut state statutes define a “vessel” in the following manner under Conn. Gen. 
Stat. § 15-127:  

Vessel: means every description of watercraft, other than a seaplane on water, 
used or capable of being used as a means of transportation on water. 

Definition of an Abandoned and/or Derelict Vessel  
Connecticut law provides a legal definition for derelict vessels under Harbors and Rivers Conn. 
Gen. Stat. § 15-3(a)(1), but does not explicitly define an “abandoned” vessel. 

Derelict Vessel: means any vessel, scow, lighter or similar floating structure or part 
thereof, whether or not moored, anchored or made fast to shore, that is broken or 
altered to such an extent that it will not keep afloat with ordinary care. 

Formal State Program for Abandoned/Derelict Vessels  
The State of Connecticut passed a new “Act concerning Abandoned Vessels” in 2014, which 
took effect in January of 2015. This new statute, established under Public Act No. 14-57, 
repealed the older version of Conn. Gen. Stat. § 15-140c and replaced it with a more 
comprehensive set of laws to address the issue of vessel abandonment in Connecticut state 
waters, and set up a more comprehensive online state program for dealing with abandoned 
vessels. The state program, which is administered by the Department of Energy and 
Environmental Protection, includes provisions for dealing with ownership/party of standing, 
notification, liens, liability for costs, and removal.  

Under Conn. Gen. Stat. § 15-140c(c), it is a violation to abandon any vessel in state waters and 
“No person shall abandon any vessel on the waters of this state or upon property other than his 
own without the consent of the owner thereof.” Pursuant to Conn. Gen. Stat. § 15-140c(m), any 
person who abandons a vessel shall have committed a violation and shall be fined not less than 
$300 nor more than $500, except if such abandonment occurred during a declared emergency 
and as a result of the conditions that caused such emergency to be declared. 

This new act did not modify the existing legislation for derelict vessels found under the 
jurisdiction of ports and harbor masters, which are addressed separately under Conn. Gen. Stat. 
§ 15-11(a). Under this legislation it is dependent upon duly authorized harbor masters to 
determine if a vessel is derelict and requires removal. The derelict vessel program addresses 
ownership determination, notification, liability for costs and the taking of the vessel and is 
administered by the Department of Transportation and its harbor masters. 

Designation of Abandoned and/or Derelict Vessels 
Under Conn. Gen. Stat. § 15-140c, a vessel is assumed to be abandoned, if left unattended, by 
the following criteria: 
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1) Left on the waters of this state not moored, anchored or made fast to the shore and 
unattended for a period greater than twenty-four hours,  

2) left upon property other than his own without the consent of said property owner for a 
period greater than twenty-four hours, except in the case where a tenant leaves a 
vessel behind on property such tenant formerly rented, leased or occupied, in which 
case such vessel shall be presumed to be abandoned ninety days after termination of 
occupancy by such tenant, 

3) left at a mooring for more than sixty days since receipt of the last full payment, 
4) left at a storage facility, repair facility or other commercial facility for more than one 

year since receipt of the last full payment by such facility, 
5) found during a declared emergency pursuant to chapter 517:  

a) In a public right-of-way and that hinders access to a public right-of-way or 
hinders access to public utilities, or  

b) in a location or condition that creates an imminent danger to public safety or to 
the environment, or  

6) left upon the waters of the state for more than twenty-four hours and such vessel is not 
properly registered. 

According to criteria 3 and 4 (above) a vessel is also considered to be abandoned if left at a 
business, which has agreed to provide a service to the owner of the vessel (i.e. - maintenance, 
repair or storage), with fees unpaid for the period of time stated. However, within 60 days after 
work has ceased a lien can be filed by the business with the state and placed on the vessel. If 
the lien is not met and dissolved by the current owner, the vessel can be sold following the 
guidelines of the state (See generally, Conn. Gen. Stat. § 49-55 to § 49-59).  

Under Conn. Gen. Stat. § 15-140c(b), if a vessel is believed to be abandoned the last owner of 
record at the time it was abandoned, as recorded with the governmental entity that registered 
it, is presumed to be the person who abandoned it, or caused its abandonment, unless the 
owner can provide sufficient evidence that the vessel was transferred to another individual or 
entity. 

If a vessel is thought to be abandoned only a party with standing can initiate the abandoned 
vessel procedures, pursuant to Conn. Gen. Stat. § 15-140c. In order to be recognized as a party 
of standing one of the following criteria listed must be met, as outline under Conn. Gen. Stat. § 
15-140c(c): 

1) The owner of the property where the abandoned vessel came to rest or to which the 
abandoned vessel was made fast; 

2) Any harbormaster, police department, municipality or agent of the state that agrees to 
accept or process an abandoned vessel; 

3) Any emergency responder, including a responding utility, or any person or firm 
contracted by a governmental agency to provide emergency services and responding to 
a bona fide emergency in a declared emergency pursuant to chapter 517 or the 
aftermath of a declared emergency; and 

4) Any licensed motor vehicle dealer who is authorized to tow or transport, in accordance 
with section 14-66, or any professional marine salvager when such dealer or salvager is 
engaged by any of the persons described in subdivisions (1) to (3), inclusive, of this 
subsection. 



Connecticut ADV Legislative and Administrative Review 2015 
 

3 
 

The Commissioner of Energy and Environmental Protection (Commissioner) will notify the 
Secretary of the State of any notice of abandoned vessel who will, in turn, provide the 
commissioner with any financial statements on the vessels including liens (Conn. Gen. Stat. §  
15-140c(e)). According to Conn. Gen. Stat. § 15-140c(f), any party with a lien recorded with the 
Secretary of State may seek a writ of attachment in accordance with the provisions of Conn. 
Gen. Stat. § 49-55(d). All interested parties including the owner, lienholder, and those with a 
security interest will be notified of the intent to deem the vessel as abandoned and provided 
with its status, location and record of liens currently placed on the vessel. After being notified 
the owner will be provided with an opportunity pay the liens and remove or store the vessel; 
otherwise the vessel will be deemed abandoned.  

According to Conn. Gen. Stat. § 15-140c(f)(3), any lienholder or person with a security interest 
may request that the Commissioner suspend the abandoned vessel procedures pursuant to 
subsection (h) of this section for the purpose of arranging for the removal, transport or storage 
of an abandoned vessel. Any party with a lien or a security interest in the vessel who enters 
private property to take an abandoned vessel into custody shall be liable to the owner or party 
with standing for any damage or physical injury caused during the repossession (Conn. Gen. 
Stat. §  15-140c(f)(4)). 

Pursuant to Conn. Gen. Stat. § 15-140c(d), any party with standing may seek full cost recovery 
from the person who abandoned the vessel for any unpaid expense incurred as a result of, or 
incidental to, the abandonment. Any person who acts in good faith and without malice in the 
processing, storage or movement of an abandoned vessel pursuant to this section is immune 
from civil liability for any damage done to the vessel. 

The process of filing a notarized notice of abandonment in Connecticut can be found under 
Conn. Gen. Stat. § 15-140c(h). First, the parties in standing must file a notarized notice of 
abandoned vessel with the Commissioner of Energy and Environmental Protection. Upon 
receipt of a filing, the commissioner will determine whether the vessel has been reported as 
stolen or missing. The commissioner must also post information regarding the abandonment 
report on a publicly accessible abandoned vessel Internet web site, with information sufficient 
to identify the abandoned vessel. At a minimum the notice shall contain (if known) the: 

• the registration number of the vessel; 
• the make and model, and the length and color of the vessel; 
• the town and water body nearest to the abandonment location; 
• and instructions for contacting the commissioner. 

The commissioner shall send a certified letter to the person who abandons a vessel, if known, 
that identifies the abandoned vessel, informs the recipient of the consequences of 
abandonment under the provisions of this section, and provides instructions regarding how the 
vessel can be retrieved. The party with standing will receive a water resistant adhesive label 
from the Commissioner stating that vessel is being processed pursuant to the provisions of 
Conn. Gen. Stat. § 15-140c, and provide instructions on how to contact the commissioner for 
more information about the vessel or to intervene in the procedures.  

A 45 day waiting period begins after the first attempt at notification and if the person who 
abandoned the vessel, a lienholder, or someone with a security interest does not contact the 
commissioner or fails to remove the vessel within this period the commissioner can issue a 
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notice of assumed ownership, by certified mail, to the party with standing. If the person who 
abandoned the vessel responds to the notices, they have until the last day of the waiting period 
to remove to the vessel before losing ownership.  

Derelict vessels in harbors are treated differently than abandoned vessels and are addressed 
under Conn. Gen. Stat. § 15-11(a). Duly authorized harbormasters can determine whether a 
vessel is derelict. The program, which is under the Department of Transportation, requires the 
Commissioner of Transportation, a harbor master or an authorized representative of a 
municipality, upon determining a vessel is derelict, to make a reasonable attempt to notify the 
owner, agent or operator of the vessel prior to removing it and allow them to make 
arrangements for its removal (Conn. Gen. Stat. § 15-11a(b)) (see more under Special Location 
Factors). 

Responsibility for Removal of Abandoned or Derelict Vessels 
Generally, it is up to the aggrieved landowner or business to see the abandonment process 
through as long as the vessel remains in their custody. However, the law does provide that any 
officer authorized to enforce the state’s boating laws, upon discovery of any vessel apparently 
abandoned, whether situated on or out of the waters of the state, may take such vessel into his 
custody and place the vessel into storage in a suitable place (Conn. Gen. Stat. § 15-140c(b)). No 
liability may attach to such officer for any damages to such vessel while it is in their custody. All 
necessary expenses incurred during the removal and storage of abandoned vessels shall be 
placed in lien on the vessel and the vessel can be sold to pay for the lien after 60 days (See 
generally, Conn. Gen. Stat. § 49-55 to § 49-59). 

The Commissioner of Transportation, a harbor master, or a representative of a municipality can 
cause a derelict vessel to be removed under their jurisdiction, including from harbors and the 
state navigable waters. Pursuant to Conn. Gen. Stat. § 15-11a(a), if a vessel is declared derelict 
by the state and is not removed by the owner, agent or operator within the time period 
provided in the required notice, the Commissioner of Transportation, a duly authorized harbor 
master or a duly authorized representative of a municipality may direct that the derelict vessel 
be removed and taken into custody. The state may recover the direct and incidental costs 
associated with the removal, including any legal expenses and court costs, from the last owner 
of record, agent or operator in an action founded upon this section.  

Removal and Disposal Requirements/Guidelines  
For vessels that have been declared abandoned pursuant to Conn. Gen. Stat. § 15-140c, the 
party of standing is responsible for all costs associated with the removal and disposal of the 
vessel. No requirements or guidelines have been included in the state statutes that pertain to 
the methods for removal or disposal of abandoned vessels.  

According to Conn. Gen. Stat. § 15-140c(k)(1), any waste oil, fuel, antifreeze or other hazardous 
materials stored on an abandoned vessel and incidental to the operation and maintenance of 
such abandoned vessel shall be deemed household hazardous waste, if removed from vessel in 
preparation for its storage, removal or destruction. 

Connecticut does have laws addressing the removal of derelict vessels under Title 15, Chapter 
63 Harbors and Rivers. Prior to removing and taking a derelict vessel into custody under Conn. 
Gen. Stat. § 15-11a, the Commissioner of Transportation, a duly authorized harbor master or a 
duly authorized representative of a municipality must make a reasonable attempt to notify the 



Connecticut ADV Legislative and Administrative Review 2015 
 

5 
 

owner, agent or operator and allow them to make arrangements for removal of the vessel 
(Conn. Gen. Stat. § 15-11a(b)). The notification will inform the owner, agent or operator that if 
the vessel is not removed within twenty-four hours of notification, it shall be removed, taken 
into custody and stored at the expense of the owner, agent or operator (Conn. Gen. Stat. § 15-
11a(b)). In addition, a readily visible notification sticker must be affixed to the derelict vessel as 
provided for under Conn. Gen. Stat. § 15-11a(c),that includes: 

1) The date and time the notification sticker was affixed to the vessel,  
2) a statement that, pursuant to this section, if the vessel is not removed within twenty-

four hours of the time the sticker was affixed, it shall be taken into custody and stored 
at the owner's expense,  

3) the location and telephone number where additional information may be obtained, and  
4) the identity of the person who affixed the sticker. 

If the derelict vessel is not removed by the owner, agent or operator within 24 hours of the 
notification sticker being affixed, the Commissioner of Transportation, harbor master, or 
municipality representative can direct that the vessel be removed, taken into custody and/or 
stored (Conn. Gen. Stat. § 15-11a(d)). If a derelict vessel is removed and taken into custody 
pursuant to this subsection a written notice must be sent, by certified mail, return receipt 
requested, to the responsible parties that states: 

1. the vessel has been removed, taken into custody and stored; 
2. the location from where the vessel was removed; and 
3. that the vessel may be disposed of after 15 days if the appraised market value of the 

vessel does not exceed $2,000 or that the vessel may be sold after 90 days, pursuant to 
the provisions of subsection (f). 

After 90 days from the date of the written notice the derelict vessel can be sold at public 
auction pursuant to Conn. Gen. Stat. § 15-11a(f). The vessel’s sale must be advertised twice in a 
newspaper with circulation in the area where the vessel is located, at least five days before the 
sale. A notice must also be sent to the last known address of the owner, agent or operator, if 
known. The notice must include the time and place of the sale and be sent by certified mail, 
return receipt requested, at least five days before the day of the sale. 

The remaining proceeds from the sale of a derelict vessel, after deducting any amount due for 
removal and storage charges and all other associated expenses, shall be paid to the owner, 
agent or operator, or their legal representatives if claimed within one year from the date of the 
sale. If any remaining balance is not claimed within the one year period, it shall escheat to the 
municipality from which the vessel was removed. If the expenses incurred by the state during 
the removal, storage and sale of a derelict vessel, and any fines, exceed the proceeds received 
from the sale, the owner, agent or operator become liable to the state for such excess 
expenses. In addition, the Commissioner of Transportation may require the owner, agent or 
operator to furnish a performance bond in an amount sufficient to cover the estimated costs of 
removal (Conn. Gen. Stat. § 15-11a(g)). 

Differences between Commercial and Recreational Vessel Treatment 
Connecticut statutes do not distinguish between commercial and recreational boats for the 
purpose of designating a vessel as abandoned or derelict.  
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Vessel Size Requirements or Limits  
There are no vessel size limits or requirements for abandoned or derelict vessel declaration or 
removal according to Connecticut State law.  

Funding Sources 
There is no dedicated funding source in Connecticut for the removal of abandoned or derelict 
vessels. Officers or individuals moving and storing ADVs are entitled to reimbursement of the 
costs incurred to them, which can be obtained from the owner through a maritime lien or sale 
of the vessel at a public auction. Proceeds from the sale may be used to cover the costs of the 
vessel removal. Under Conn. Gen. Stat. § 15-11a(g), prior to removal efforts the Commissioner 
of Transportation may require the owner, agent or operator to furnish a performance bond in 
an amount sufficient to cover the estimated costs of removal as determined by the 
commissioner.   

Lead State Agencies  
Connecticut’s Department of Energy and Environmental Protection is the lead agency with 
regards to abandoned vessels in the state. 

Email: deep.boating@ct.gov 
Telephone: 860-434-8638 
Website: http://www.ct.gov/deep/cwp/view.asp?a=2686&q=391624&deepNav_GID=16
20 

The Connecticut Department of Transportation is the lead administrator with regards to 
derelict vessels in the state.  

 Email: through website 
Telephone: 860-594-2000 

 Website: http://www.ct.gov/dot/site/default.asp 

The Secretary of the State for Connecticut works with the Department of Energy and 
Environmental Protection to determine if a vessel is encumbered by a lien, or if there is a pre-
standing commercial relationship. 

 Email: through website 
Telephone: 860-509-6200 
Website: http://www.ct.gov/sots/site/default.asp 

Insurance Requirements for Vessels  
Vessel/Boat insurance is not required by law in Connecticut.  

Specific Location Factors, Limitations and Additional Information 
The provision contained under Conn. Gen. Stat. § 15-11a, as discussed above, are relevant to 
derelict vessels found in harbors, as well as those found in the states navigable waters.  

Prioritization Scheme  
A prioritization scheme is not addressed in Connecticut law but vessels which pose a threat to 
navigation, public safety or to the environment may take precedence over other derelict 
vessels.  
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http://www.ct.gov/deep/cwp/view.asp?a=2686&q=391624&deepNav_GID=1620
http://www.ct.gov/dot/site/default.asp
http://www.ct.gov/sots/site/default.asp
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Legislation and Administrative Codes 
The laws referenced in this document can be accessed from: 

General Statutes of Connecticut (2015): 
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/titles.htm 

 

 These Legislative and Administrative Reviews are intended for informational purposes only. They are summaries and not meant to be legal references, and 
should not be used as such. See the official state statutes and administrative codes for current state laws and rules and regulations for any legal references.     

 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/titles.htm

