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Definition of a Vessel 
Delaware state statutes define a “vessel” in the following manner as defined under Title 
23, Chapter 13 of the Delaware Code (23 Del. C. § 1303(d)(3)):  

Vessel: Every description of watercraft, other than a seaplane, used or capable of being 
used as a means of transportation on water or ice.  

Definition of an Abandoned and/or Derelict Vessel  
Delaware Code does not include a definition for “derelict” vessel but provides the legal 
definition for abandoned vessel under 23 Del. C. § 1303(d)(1) as follows: 

Abandoned Vessel: means 

a) A vessel that has been left illegally or has remained without permission for more 
than 30 days on public property, including public marinas, public docks, and 
public boatyards; or 

b) A vessel that has been found adrift or unattended in or upon the public waters or 
public subaqueous land of the State, and is found in a condition of disrepair that 
constitutes a hazard or obstruction to the use of public waters or subaqueous 
land of the State or that presents a potential or actual health or environment 
hazard. 

Delaware also provides a definition for “abandoned shipwreck” under 7 Del. C. § 5304(a) for 
Archaeological and Geological Resources: 

Abandoned shipwreck: means any shipwreck to which title has been voluntarily given 
up by the owner or by the owner not taking action after a wreck incident to claim title. 

Formal State Program for Abandoned Vessels  
Delaware does not have a formal comprehensive program to address abandoned or derelict 
vessels in the state. Under Delaware Code, several provisions (23 Sec. C. §1303 through §1305) 
provide the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control (DNREC) with the 
authority to seize, remove, transport, preserve, store, and dispose of any abandoned vessel or 
property relating to an abandoned vessel. 

Any person who abandons a vessel or property relating to a vessel on public or private property 
for more than 30 days or who violates any other provision of 23 Del. C. § 1303 or § 1304 is 
subject to a civil penalty of not less than $100 nor more than $500 for each offense. The 
Superior Court of Delaware has jurisdiction over violations of this chapter. 

Designation of Abandoned and/or Derelict Vessels 
Delaware does not have a formal designation procedure for identifying abandoned and derelict 
vessels. Under Delaware Code Title 23, section 1303(d)(1), a vessel is considered abandoned 
and subject to removal by the DNREC if it has been left illegally or has remained without 
permission for more than 30 days on public property, has been found adrift or unattended 
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upon the public lands or waters of the State, is in a condition of disrepair that constitutes a 
hazard to health or the environment, or is an obstruction to public lands/waters (see actual 
definitions above).  

Pursuant to 23 Del. C. §1303(a):   

a) A person finding or having in that person's own possession a vessel that was adrift or 
abandoned, or any lost, abandoned, or stolen property relating to a vessel, shall turn 
the vessel or property over to the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental 
Control for disposition pursuant to subsection (b) of this section. 

In addition, any vessels left unattended at any seawall or other mooring facility in excess of 48 
hours without contacting the Division of Fish and Wildlife or a Fish and Wildlife Agent are also 
considered abandoned and will be deemed so by the state (7 Del. Admin. C. 3100-10.2.5). 

For abandoned or derelict vessels found on private lands or waters, the state can declare the 
vessel as abandoned under 23 Del. C. §1304(a) as follows:  

a) Abandoned vessels and property relating to vessels on the strand on private property, 
such as private waters, private subaqueous land, private marinas, private docks, and 
private boatyards, may be seized, removed, transported, preserved, stored, and 
disposed of by the Department pursuant to the provisions of this chapter upon written 
request to the Department by the private property owner, if the Department receives 
funding to provide such a service. 

However, this only can occur under Delaware law if funding is provided to the DNREC to cover 
the costs of such a service. This subsection does not apply, however, under 23 Del. C. 1304(b) if: 

1) A vessel whose owner has not complied with the terms of a financial agreement to pay 
docking, mooring, storage, or similar fees at a private marina, dock, boatyard, or other 
nautical facility, yet allows the vessel to remain at the marina, dock, boatyard, or other 
facility; 

2) A vessel whose owner trespasses on private property by leaving that owner's vessel in 
another person's boat slip or dockspace without the permission of the other person. 

Liens on private property that may come from one of the above circumstances are dealt with 
under Delaware Code Title 25, Property, Mortgages and Liens. In Delaware, abandoned and 
derelict vessels are taken into custody by the state, which means that private citizens cannot 
claim title to the property and it must be turned over to the state (unlike some other states that 
allow private parties to claim title on abandoned or derelict vessels).  

 Responsibility for Removal of Abandoned or Derelict Vessels 
In Delaware, vessels that have been declared abandoned or derelict become the responsibility 
of the state, as set forth in 23 Del. C. §1303(a)) (see above). The Department may delegate to 
any local jurisdiction its authority to seize, remove, transport, preserve, store, and dispose of 
ADVs and related property (23 Del. C. § 1303(g)). The DNREC may not be held liable for any 
damage that may occur during seizure, removal, transportation, preservation, storage, or 
disposition.  

The financial responsibility for the removal of these vessels also resides with the state, which is 
entitled to reimbursement for all expenses incurred in the enforcement of 23 Del. C. §1303 and 
§ 1304. The proceeds from the sale of the vessels at public auctions will go towards paying any 
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liens and expenses incurred by the Department or by the person who turned the abandoned 
vessel over to the Department. The owners of any vessels left abandoned at any seawall or 
other mooring facility or found adrift are responsible for all expenses associated with the 
abandonment and removal (7 Del. Admin. C. 3100-10.2.5). 

Removal and Disposal Requirements/Guidelines  
When an abandoned vessel is found on public property, the DNREC, under 23 Del. C. § 1303(e), 
has the authority to seize, remove, transport, preserve, store, and dispose of it and any 
property relating to the vessel. The DNREC may use its own personnel, equipment, and facilities 
or use other persons, equipment, and facilities and cannot be held liable for any damage that 
may occur during seizure, removal, transportation, preservation, storage, or disposition.  

Once a vessel has be “declared” abandoned or derelict and comes into the custody of the state 
for a period of 6 months, the vessel can then be sold at public auction. When this occurs, the 
state must adhere to the procedures as outlined under 23 Del. C. § 1303.  

Pursuant to 23 Del. C. § 1303(b)(1), whenever the DNREC has a vessel or property relating to a 
vessel in custody and the person entitled to it cannot be located and/or fails to claim 
possession within 6 months, the Department may dispose of the vessel or property through 
public sale provided they give proper notice. The notice must be published in at least one daily 
newspaper in the State for two successive weeks prior to the sale. The notice must include: 

• the time and place of the public sale; 
• the terms of the sale; and  
• a description of the vessel or property.  

The Secretary of the Department shall, at their discretion, fix the terms of sale and can hire an 
auctioneer to conduct the sale. If the vessel is of a type that requires a certificate of title or 
registration issued by the State, the Department must notify the current owner and lienholder 
on record, if known, by registered mail at least 10 days before the sale. If the address of the 
owner or lienholders cannot be ascertained, then no notification is required under this 
paragraph. 

The notice pursuant to 23 Del. C. § 1304(b) is not required when the abandoned vessel or 
property relating to a vessel that creates an actual or potential hazard to navigation and is 
removed in an emergency situation (23 Del. C. § 1304(b)(2)). When an abandoned vessel is on 
private property the DNREC, or its delegated authority, can remove it providing the Department 
receives a written request from the private property owner to remove the vessel, and it 
receives enough funding to provide such a service (23 Del. C. § 1304(a)).  

The Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control also has the authority to 
dispose of abandoned, lost or stolen property under Delaware Code Title 29 (§ 8026). Delaware 
Code does not include any provisions that outline requirements or methods for destroying or 
salvaging abandoned or derelict vessels.  

Differences between Commercial and Recreational Vessel Treatment 
Delaware code does not distinguish between commercial and recreational ADVs. It does, 
however, provide a distinction for archaeological resources, including shipwrecks, which are 
regulated by the Delaware Department of State pursuant to Title 7, Chapter 53.   
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Vessel Size Requirements or Limits  
There are no size requirements or limitations for abandoned or derelict vessels identified in 
Delaware Code. 

Funding Sources 
Delaware does not have a formalized program or a dedicated funding source for the removal of 
abandoned or derelict vessels. According to the DNREC, when an ADV removal is undertaken, 
funding originates from the DNREC, Division of Watershed Stewardship, annual General Fund 
appropriation under dredging, macro algae harvesting and channel marking. The State of 
Delaware is entitled to reimbursement for all expenses incurred in the enforcement of 23 Del. 
C. §1303 and § 1304. Any proceeds from the sale of the vessels at public auctions, which remain 
after any liens and any expenses incurred by the Department or by the person who turned the 
abandoned vessel over to the Department are paid, are placed in the General Fund account (23 
Del. C. § 1303(c)). Reimbursable expenses include all direct expenses associated with the 
seizure, removal, transportation, preservation, storage, and disposal of a vessel or property 
relating to a vessel. 

Under 23 Del. C. § 1305, the sentencing official shall order the person to reimburse the 
Department for all expenses incurred by the Department in the enforcement of 23 Del. C. § 
1303 and 1304, including the seizure, removal, transport, preservation, storage, and disposal 
expenses of or for abandoned vessels and any property relating to the abandoned vessel.  

Lead State Agency  
The Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control, Office of the 
Secretary, is the administering agency for abandoned/derelict vessels in Delaware. 

Email: not provided 
Phone: 302-739-9000 
Website: http://www.dnrec.delaware.gov/Pages/Portal.aspx  

The Division of Fish and Wildlife, within DNREC, has authority over vessels that are abandoned 
on seawalls or at other mooring facilities or are found adrift on state waters.    

 Email: through website 
Phone: 302-739-9910 or 302-739-9916 (boat registration) 
Website: http://www.dnrec.delaware.gov/fw/Pages/DFW-Portal.aspx 

Insurance Requirements for Vessels  
Vessel/Boat insurance is not required by law in Delaware. 

Specific Location Factors, Limitations and Additional Information 
Under Delaware Code 23 § 1303(h), the provisions of Title 23 section 1303 and section 1304 do 
not apply to archaeological resources, including shipwrecks embedded in or located on the 
State’s subaqueous lands, which are regulated by the Department of State, Division of Historical 
and Cultural Affairs pursuant to Chapter 53 of Title 7. 

The Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control may only remove vessels 
from private property if they receive funding from the property owner or Legislature to do so. 
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Prioritization Scheme  
Delaware Code does not contain any provision for prioritizing the removal of ADVs within state 
waters. However, according to Delaware Code 23 § 1303(b)(2), no notice is required when an 
abandoned vessel or property relating to a vessel is removed in an emergency situation that 
creates an actual or potential hazard to navigation. 

Legislation and Administrative Codes 
The laws and administrative codes referenced in this document can be accessed from: 

Delaware Code: 
http://delcode.delaware.gov/ 

Delaware’s Administrative Code: 
http://regulations.delaware.gov/AdminCode/ 

 

 These Legislative and Administrative Reviews are intended for informational purposes only. They are summaries and not meant to be legal references, and 
should not be used as such. See the official state statutes and administrative codes for current state laws and rules and regulations for any legal references.     
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