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Definition of a Vessel 
The State of Georgia defines a “vessel” under Ga. Code Ann. § 52-7-70(3) as follows:  

Vessel: Every description of watercraft, other than a seaplane on the water, used or 
capable of being used as a means of transportation on water and specifically 
includes, but is not limited to, inflatable rafts. 

 
Definition of an Abandoned and/or Derelict Vessel  
Georgia law also provides a legal definition for abandoned vessels under Ga. Code Ann. § 52-7-
70(1): 

Abandoned Vessel: means a vessel 

A) Which has been left by the owner or some person acting for the owner with a vessel 
dealer, repairman, or wrecker service for repair or for some other reason and has 
not been called for by such owner or other person within a period of 30 days after 
the time agreed upon; or within 30 days after such vessel is turned over to such 
dealer, repairman, or wrecker service when no time is agreed upon; or within 30 
days after the completion of necessary repairs; 

B) Which is left unattended upon or in any public water or at any port in this state 
without the consent of the agency having jurisdiction or docked at any private 
property without the consent of the owner of such property for a period of at least 
five days and when it reasonably appears to a law enforcement officer that the 
individual who left such vessel unattended does not intend to return and remove 
such vessel; 

C) Which has been lawfully towed onto the property of another at the request of a law 
enforcement officer and left there for a period of not less than 30 days without 
anyone's having made claim thereto; 

D) Which has been lawfully towed onto the property of another at the request of a 
property owner on whose property the vessel was abandoned and left there for a 
period of not less than 30 days without the owner's having made claim thereto; or 

E) Which has been left unattended on private property for a period of not less than 30 
days without anyone's having made claim thereto. 

 
Formal State Program for Abandoned Vessels  
The State of Georgia has a formal process in place for the determination of ownership, removal 
and disposal of abandoned vessels found on both public and private property. Any vessel found 
on public or private property that meets the aforementioned definitions for an abandoned 
vessel can be declared abandoned under Title 52, Chapter 7, and Article 3 of Georgia Annotated 
Code.     

NOAA Marine Debris Region:  
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The State of Georgia’s abandoned vessel program, managed under Ga. Code Ann. § 52-7-70 
through § 52-7-77, defines when a vessel can be assumed to be abandoned and administers the 
taking, notification process and disposal of abandoned vessels. The program also addresses 
vessel liens, which can be placed on vessels by the party in charge of removal in order to cover 
the expenses incurred during removal, storage, notification and disposal. However, under 
Georgia law derelict vessels are not addressed specifically and the procedures for 
determination and removal of any derelict vessels follow those as outline here for abandoned 
vessels. Vessel owners that receive an order to remove the vessel from private or public 
lands/waters and do not comply may be refused by the State to have their vessel certificate or 
fishing licenses renewed (§ 52-7-72.1(b)(1)(a)). 

In addition to the laws on record for abandoned vessels, the Georgia Department of Natural 
Resources has developed the Abandoned and Sunken Vessels Project; a program that focuses 
on identifying, mapping and prioritizing abandoned and derelict vessels in an effort to alert 
boaters to the potential hazards these vessel pose within the state.   

 
Designation of Abandoned and/or Derelict Vessels 
In Georgia vessels that are presumed to be abandoned under Ga. Code Ann. § 52-7-70(1) can be 
removed if located on private property or public property (including state waters) by any 
person at the request of the property owner or a law enforcement officer, respectively. There is 
no formal process under Georgia law for designating a vessel as abandoned which must be 
undertaken prior to removal or storage of the vessel. The vessel can be removed and/or stored 
without any prior notice given to the vessel owner following a request by either law 
enforcement (Ga. Code Ann. § 52-7-71(b)) or the private property owner (Ga. Code Ann. § 52-7-
71(b)) as long as it meets the definitions of an abandoned vessel under Ga. Code Ann. § 52-7-
70(1).  

The process of notification and the determination of ownership comes once the vessel has 
been removed or stored following the formal request by the property owner or law 
enforcement agency.  

 
Responsibility for Removal of Abandoned or Derelict Vessels 
Georgia law does not indicate who is responsible for the removal of the vessel once determined 
that it meets the requirements of being abandoned under Ga. Code Ann. § 52-7-70(1).  The law 
states that “any person” who receives a request from law enforcement or a private property 
owner to remove an abandoned vessel can remove and store it but nothing under the 
provisions of Title 52, Chapter 7, Article 3 of Georgia Annotated Code places the responsibility 
of removal onto any party. It can be assumed that the person receiving the request can willfully 
choose not to remove the vessel; however, this is not explicitly stated.   

 
Removal and Disposal Requirements/Guidelines  
Under Georgia law there are currently no provisions that govern how abandoned or derelict 
vessels should be removed; however, there are a variety of notification provisions that must be 
followed after the vessel has been removed. These provisions are addressed separately under 
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the law for private citizens (Ga. Code Ann. § 52-7-71) and law enforcement (Ga. Code Ann. § 52-
7-72) who remove abandoned vessels.  

When any person, other than law enforcement, removes a vessel from public property or 
waters at the request of a law enforcement officer they are required to seek the identity and 
address, if unknown, of the last known registered owner of the vessel from the law 
enforcement officer or agency who requested the removal within 72 hours (Ga. Code Ann. § 52-
7-71(a)). If the vessel is removed or stored from private property/waters at the request of the 
property owner the person in charge of the removal must, if the owner of the vessel is 
unknown, notify local law enforcement in writing within 72 hours of the removal or storage and 
seek the last known registered owner from the law enforcement agency and, in addition, seek 
information from them to determine if the vessel has been stolen (Ga. Code Ann. § 52-7-71(b)). 
The written notice to law enforcement must include the following information, if known, about 
the vessel: 

• Current location 
• Vessel certificate and hull identification number 
• Model, year and make of the vessel 

If the vessel is found to be stolen the local law enforcement officer or agency is required to 
notify the Georgia Crime Information Center and the vessel owner, if known, of the location of 
the vessel within 72 hours after receiving notice that the vessel was stolen (Ga. Code Ann. § 52-
7-71(c)).  

Once the abandoned vessel is removed and it has been determined not to be stolen, at a repair 
facility for repair, or being stored by an insurance company the person in charge of removal or 
storage of the vessel is required to notify the owner, if known, by certified, registered or 
statutory overnight mail within seven calendar days of the removal (Ga. Code Ann. § 52-7-
71(d)). The information provided in the letter must include the location of the vessel, the fees 
incurred during the removal and storage, and the fact that the vessel will be deemed 
abandoned under state law unless the owner redeems the vessel within 30 days after the vessel 
was removed.  

Liens can be placed on the vessel by any person who removes or stores the vessel for any 
reasonable fees connected with the removal, storage and advertisement (Ga. Code Ann. § 52-7-
73 (1-9)). If the person in charge of removing/storing the vessel has a lien placed on the vessel, 
then they have one year from the time the lien was recorded to foreclose on the lien. In order 
to do so they must make a demand on the owner, if known, by certified or registered mail, or 
by statutory overnight delivery that includes an itemized statements of all charges incurred. If, 
within ten days of the demand, the owner of the vessel does not respond, or the owner is not 
known, then the person removing or storing the vessel may foreclose on the lien by making an 
affidavit to the court which includes all the facts necessary to constitute such lien and the 
amount to be claimed, following the procedures as outlined in Ga. Code Ann. § 52-7-71(4-9). If 
the foreclosure is accepted by the courts the person holding the lien will be authorized to sell 
the vessel as public sale in order to recuperate their costs, with any additional proceeds being 
handed over to the court (Ga. Code Ann. § 52-7-75) and dealt with in a manner as outlined 
under Ga. Code Ann. § 52-7-77. 



Georgia ADV Legislative and Administrative Review 2015 
 

4 
 

If the owner of the vessel, as identified, fails to redeem the vessel after being notified or the 
vessel is abandoned by the repair facility or the insurance company who was storing the vessel, 
the person who removed the vessel is required, within seven days, to notify the Department of 
Natural Resources and the Georgia Bureau of Investigation by a sworn written statement under 
Ga. Code Ann. § 52-7-71(e) that the vessel has been abandoned. The sworn statement must 
indicate that the vessel is abandoned and include the same information as the initial written 
notice as required under Ga. Code Ann. § 52-7-71(b) (see above) as well as the following 
additional information: 

• The date the vessel became abandoned and date it was removed 
• A request for the name and address of all owners, lessors, lessees, security interest 

holders and any lien holders 

If the vessel is thought to be registered or titled out of state by the person who removed the 
vessel, they are required to check for records within that state in order to ascertain the identity 
of the owner.  

Once the sworn statement is received by the Department of Natural Resources, as described in 
Ga. Code Ann. § 52-7-71(e), the commissioner may revoke, suspend, deny, or refuse to renew 
any vessel certificate of number or commercial fishing boat license held by or applied for by the 
person (owner), as required by the state under this title or Title 27, until all fees and liens 
related to the removal/storage of the vessel have been paid and/or satisfied (Ga. Code Ann. § 
52-7-71(e.1)(1A)). A notification of the proposed order for revocation, suspension, denial, or 
nonrenewal must be sent by certified mail or statutory overnight delivery to the address of the 
person, as indicated on the certificate of number and/or license application materials. The 
proposed order becomes final after 30 days if not appealed. Any person who receives a 
notification, as outline above, from the commissioner has a right to appeal in the superior court 
as outlined in Ga. Code Ann. § 52-7-71(e.1)(1B).  

The penalties for failing to remove an unattended vessel are also detailed in Ga. Code Ann. § 
52-7-71.1, which includes the same procedures and requirements as those outlined under Ga. 
Code Ann. § 52-7-71(e.1). However, it requires the owner to restore and resume operation of 
the vessel in order to remove it from public waters and property and does not address the 
payments of fees and satisfaction of liens associated with the removal of the vessel by another 
party.  

After notice is given to the Department of Natural Resources under Ga. Code Ann. § 52-7-71(e) 
and a copy of the notice is received by the state revenue commissioner, the state revenue 
commissioner may revoke, suspend, deny or refuse to renew any motor vehicle registration 
required by Title 40 which is held by the person, until all fees connected to the removal/storage 
of the vessel and all liens acquired under Ga. Code Ann. § 52-7-73 have been satisfied (Ga. Code 
Ann. § 52-7-71(e.1)(2A)). A notice of the proposed order by the state revenue commissioner 
must be delivered personally to the person or sent via certified mail or statutory overnight 
delivery to the name and address supplied on the application for registration. If after 30 days of 
issuance the notice is not appealed as specified under Ga. Code Ann. § 52-7-71(e.1)(2B) the 
notice becomes final.  

If the owner of the abandoned vessel is identified, the person who removed or stored the 
vessel is required to notify the owner, lessors, lessees, security interest holders and lienholders 
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by certified or registered mail or statutory overnight delivery within five calendar days as to the 
vessels location and the fact that the vessel has been deemed abandoned and will be disposed 
of if not redeemed (Ga. Code Ann. § 52-7-71(f).  

If the owner has not been identified then an advertisement must be posted in a newspaper of 
general circulation in the county where the vessel was obtained or posted at the county 
courthouse (Ga. Code Ann. § 52-7-71(g). The advertisement must run at least once a week for 
two consecutive weeks or remain posted at the courthouse for a two week period and must 
state that the vessel is deemed abandoned and will be disposed of if not redeemed. The 
advertisement must also include:  

• A complete description of the vessel 
• The location from which the vessel was removed and its current location 
• Certificate of number and hull identification number of the vessel 

The person responsible for the removal/storage of the vessel under the provisions outline in 
Ga. Code Ann. § 52-7-71 must notify the Department of Natural Resources and the Georgia 
Bureau of Investigations within seven calendar days if the vessel is recovered or claimed by the 
owner, is determined to be stolen, or the vessel is no longer considered abandoned (Ga. Code 
Ann. § 52-7-71(i).  

If the proper notices are not provided by the person removing or storing the vessel they will not 
be entitled to any storage fees (Ga. Code Ann. § 52-7-71(k) and if they provide false or 
misleading information they shall be guilty of a misdemeanor under Ga. Code Ann. § 52-7-71(l).      

In addition to providing procedures required by a private citizen when removing and/or storing 
an abandoned vessel from private or public property (Ga. Code Ann. § 52-7-71), Georgia law 
also includes sections for the removal of these vessels by peace officers under Ga. Code Ann. § 
52-7-72.  

Any peace officer who finds a vessel left unattended in or upon public waters or property for at 
least five days may remove the vessel, after notifying the Department of Natural Resources, to 
a garage or other place of safety if they believe the person who left the vessel does not intend 
to remove it (Ga. Code Ann. § 52-7-72(a)). If the vessel poses a threat to public health or safety 
they may remove it immediately after the Department is notified under Ga. Code Ann. § 52-7-
72(b). Any peace officers who causes the removal of a vessel under these provisions can be 
held liable for gross negligence only (Ga. Code Ann. § 52-7-72(c). 

Under Ga. Code Ann. § 52-7-72(d)(1) if a peace officer finds a vessel that meets the criteria, as 
described under Ga. Code Ann. § 52-7-72(a) or (b), they have 72 hours from the time of finding 
to notify the Department of Natural Resources and the Georgia Crime Information Center, in 
order to determine the last known registered owner. Notification must include a description of 
the vessel, the owner (if available), and indicate if the vessel has been removed, and if so, 
where the vessel is currently located. If the vessel is determined to be a stolen vessel, the local 
law enforcement officer or agency shall notify the Georgia Crime Information Center and the 
owner, if known, of the location of the vessel within 72 hours after this determination. 

If the vessel is removed by order of the peace officer and the name and address of the last 
known registered owner is available, the peace officer is required to provide the owner 
information to the person removing such vessel within three calendar days of removal. If 



Georgia ADV Legislative and Administrative Review 2015 
 

6 
 

information about the vessel owner is not available, the peace officer shall notify the removing 
party of that fact within the three calendar days. 

 
Differences between Commercial and Recreational Vessel Treatment 
Georgia statutes do not distinguish between commercial and recreational boats for the purpose 
of designating a vessel as abandoned or derelict.   

 
Vessel Size Requirements or Limits  
Georgia does not impose size requirements or limits on the designation of abandoned or 
derelict vessels. 

 
Funding Sources 
In 2006, the Georgia Legislature appropriated two years of funding for their abandoned vessel 
removal program. However, in 2008 due to a decrease in state revenues the appropriation for 
the program did not occur and has not yet been reinstated. Removal efforts can also be funded 
from proceeds obtained through liens, foreclosures, and sales of abandoned vessels. 

 
Lead State Agency  
The Georgia Department of Natural Resources manages the abandoned vessel program and 
Sunken Vessel Project in Georgia.  

Email: buck.benett@gadnr.org 
Telephone: 912-264-7218 
Website: http://www.gadnr.org/  

    http://coastalgadnr.org/msp/comp/sv 

The Georgia Bureau of Investigation is involved with determining ownership or if the vessel has 
been stolen. 

 Email: through website 
 Telephone: 404-244-2600 
 Website: http://gbi.georgia.gov/ 

 
Insurance Requirements for Vessels  
The State of Georgia does not have insurance requirements on vessels.   

 
Specific Location Factors, Limitations and Additional Information  
Within Georgia state parks and historic sites, abandoned vessels shall be disposed of in 
accordance with the above provisions of Title 52 of the Georgia Code. (GA. COMP. R. & REGS. 
391-5-1-.05(16)(d)(1)). 

 
Prioritization Scheme  

http://www.gadnr.org/
http://www.gadnr.org/
http://gbi.georgia.gov/
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Under Georgia law the Abandoned Vessel Act does not specifically set forth a prioritization 
scheme for abandoned vessel removals. Peace officers do have the authority, under Ga. Code 
Ann. § 52-7-72(b), to immediately remove any abandoned vessels from public waters and 
property if they pose a threat to public health of safety.  

The Department of Natural Resources has developed a comprehensive set of criteria to guide 
their removal efforts. Although they do not have dedicated funding set aside to inventory 
abandoned and derelict vessels on a regular basis they have received funding to complete a 
state wide inventory in 2015. Their prioritization scheme consists of the following 5 tiers:  

1. Emergencies:  Vessels that are in danger of sinking, breaking up or blocking navigation 
channels or that present environmental risks such as leaking fuel or other hazardous 
substances. 

2. Non-Emergency Existing Threats to Human Health, Safety, and Environment: Vessels, 
floating or sunken, which pose an existing or probable future—but not immediate—
threat to human health, safety and the environment. 

3. Vessels Impacting Habitat and Not Already Covered in Prior Category:  Any vessel, 
floating or sunken, that doesn’t meet one of the previous categories but still poses a 
direct threat to elements of the natural environment. 

4. Minor Navigation or Economic Impact:   Vessels, floating or sunken, that don’t meet one 
of the previous categories but pose an economic impact such as blocking a marina slip, 
public boat ramp, public beach, etc. 

5. Other Abandoned Vessels or Derelict Vessels:  Vessels that meet the definition of 
abandoned or derelict, but do not satisfy any of the criteria listed above. These vessels 
may be sunk at depth; floating but well-kept and floating or sunk within the bounds of a 
marina or water-bottoms lease area, etc. 

Legislation and Administrative Codes 
The laws and administrative codes referenced in this document can be accessed from: 

Georgia State Statues: 
http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/gacode/Default.asp 

Rules and Regulations of the State of Georgia: 
http://rules.sos.state.ga.us/ 

 

 

 

 

These Legislative and Administrative Reviews are intended for informational purposes only. They are summaries and not meant to be legal references, and 
should not be used as such. See the official state statutes and administrative codes for current state laws and rules and regulations for any legal references.     
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