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Definition of a Vessel 
The State of Michigan provides a definition for “vessel” within the Natural Resources and 
Environmental Protection Act (Mich. Comp. Laws § 324.80104) 

Vessel: means every description of watercraft used or capable of being used as a means 
of transportation on water. 

Contained within the same Act, the State also provides an additional, more comprehensive 
definition for “watercraft” under Mich. Comp. Laws § 324.80301: 

Watercraft: means a contrivance used or designed for navigation on water, including a 
vessel, boat, motor vessel, steam vessel, vessel operated by machinery either 
permanently or temporarily affixed, scow, tugboat, or any marine equipment that is 
capable of carrying passengers, except a ferry. 

Definition of an Abandoned and/or Derelict Vessel  
In 2014, the State of Michigan passed Act 549, which becomes effective as of April 16, 2015, 
that provides a comprehensive definition for an “abandoned” vessel under Mich. Comp. Laws § 
324.80130(f)(2): 

 Abandoned Vessel: means any of the following: 

(a) A vessel that is on private property without the consent of the property owner. 
(b) A vessel that has remained on public property that is not a state trunk line highway 

as described in section 1 of 1951 PA 51, MCL 247.651, for a period of 48 hours or 
more without the permission of the governmental unit with custody of the property. 

(c) A vessel that meets all of the following requirements: 
(i) Is stationary on a state trunk line highway as described in section 1 of 1951 

PA 51, MCL 247.651. 
(ii) Is not on a motor vehicle or trailer as described under subdivision (d)(i). 
(iii) Is not under the immediate custody of the owner or owner's agent. 

(d) A vessel on a motor vehicle or trailer if the motor vehicle or trailer meets all of the 
following requirements: 

(i) Displays a valid registration plate under the Michigan vehicle code. 
(ii) Has remained parked on a state trunk line highway as described in section 1 

of 1951 PA 51, MCL 247.651, for a period of 18 hours or more. 
(iii) Is not under the immediate custody of the owner of the vessel, motor 

vehicle, or trailer or the owner's agent. 

Michigan statutes also provide a definition of “abandoned property”, which includes 
watercraft, under the Aboriginal Records and Antiquities and Abandoned Property section of 
the Natural Resources and Environmental Protection Act (Mich. Comp. Laws § 324.76101): 

NOAA Marine Debris Region:  
Great Lakes 
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Abandoned Property: means an aircraft; a watercraft, including a ship, boat, canoe, 
skiff, raft, or barge; the rigging, gear, fittings, trappings, and equipment of an aircraft or 
watercraft; the personal property of the officers, crew, and passengers of an aircraft or 
watercraft; and the cargo of an aircraft or watercraft, which have been deserted, 
relinquished, cast away, or left behind and for which attempts at reclamation have been 
abandoned by owners and insurers. Abandoned property also means materials resulting 
from activities of historic and prehistoric Native Americans. 

Although Michigan does not expressly define ‘derelict” vessels they have adopted legislation 
(under Act 549) that addresses “abandoned scrap vessels”. Under Mich. Comp. Laws § 
324.80130(g) they provide two definitions: 

Registered abandoned scrap vessel: means a vessel that meets all of the following 
requirements: 

(i) Is 7 or more years old. 
(ii) Is apparently inoperable or is damaged, to the extent that the cost of 

repairing the vessel to make it operational and safe would exceed the fair 
market value of that vessel. 

(iii) Is currently registered or titled in this state or displays a current year 
registration or current year registration decal from another state. 

Unregistered abandoned scrap vessel: means a vessel that meets all of the following 
requirements: 

(i) Is apparently inoperable or is damaged, to the extent that the cost of 
repairing the vessel to make it operational and safe would exceed the fair 
market value of that vessel. 

(ii) Is not currently registered or titled in this state and does not display a current 
year registration or current year registration decal from another state. 

Formal State Program for Abandoned Vessels  
Currently the State of Michigan does not have a formal program to administer the designation 
or removal of abandoned or derelict vessels. In 2014, Michigan law makers passed Public Act 
549 (effective April 16, 2015) which puts into place laws that specifically address abandoned 
vessels (Mich. Comp. Laws § 324.80130(f) - § 324.80130(o)). Prior to the passage of this 
legislation vessels that were abandoned were primarily addressed under the laws governing 
lost or unclaimed property (Mich. Comp. Laws § 434) and littering (Mich. Comp. Laws § 
324.8901- § 324.8905(b)). Act 549 makes it unlawful to abandon a vessel and the included 
provisions address jurisdiction, civil penalties, ownership and titling, removal, disposal (sale) 
and sets guidelines on determining who has the responsibility for covering the costs associated 
with the abandonment.    

The State also addressed abandoned vessels under litter laws. Vessels which have historical 
value or are located on Great Lakes Bottomlands are legislated through the Aboriginal Records 
and Antiquities section of the Natural Resources and Environmental Protection Act (Mich. 
Comp. Laws § 324.76101 - § 324.76118); which is managed by the Department of Natural 
Resources (Department). 

Public Act 549 makes it unlawful to abandon a vessel and any person who does so is responsible 
for a state civil infraction. If the person who abandons the vessel does not redeem it before the 
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vessels is disposed of under Mich. Comp. Laws § 324.80130(k), they become subject to 
penalties pursuant to Mich. Comp. Laws § 324.8905(a). The penalties depend on the amount of 
“litter” (by volume) that is abandoned and can include a first time fine of up to $2,500.  

Designation of Abandoned and/or Derelict Vessels 
Michigan, under Public Act 549, has provisions which address the designation process for 
identifying abandoned or derelict vessels. If a vessel meets on one of the definitional 
requirements under Mich. Comp. Laws § 324.80130(f) (see above definitions), it can be 
designated as abandoned following the procedures outlined under this section. If a vessel is 
located on public property and qualifies as an abandoned vessel (under Mich. Comp. Laws § 
324.80130(f)(2)) the police agency with jurisdiction must first determine if the vessel was 
stolen. If the vessel has not been reported stolen the police agency can have it removed and 
taken into custody (Mich. Comp. Laws § 324.80130(f)(3)).  

If the vessel is located on private property without the consent of the landowner it can be taken 
into custody as an abandoned vessel by contacting a local towing agency (one with a storage 
facility located within 15 miles of the local government’s jurisdictional border) pursuant to 
Mich. Comp. Laws § 324.80130(f)(9). Before removing the vessel the towing agency is required 
to provide reasonable notice by telephone, or otherwise, that the vessel will be towed to the 
police agency with jurisdiction who will then determine if the vessel has been reported stolen 
(Mich. Comp. Laws § 324.80130(f)(10)). 

Once an abandoned vessel is taken into custody, by either the local police agency or by a 
private property owner who notifies the police, the police agency with jurisdiction is required, 
under Mich. Comp. Laws § 324.80130(f)(4)(a), to recheck to make sure the vessel was not 
reported as stolen. Pursuant to Mich. Comp. Laws § 324.80130(f)(4)(b), if the vessel has not 
been reported as stolen the police are required to enter the vessel into Michigan’s enforcement 
information network as an abandoned vessel within 24 hours after the vessel was taken into 
custody and notify the Secretary of State. The notification must contain the following: 

(i) The year, make, and vessel identification number of the vessel, if available. 
(ii) The address or approximate location from which the vessel was taken into 

custody. 
(iii) The date on which the vessel was taken into custody. 
(iv) The name and address of the police agency. 
(v) The name and business address of the custodian of the vessel. 
(vi) The name of the court that has jurisdiction over the case. 

Once the Secretary of State receives notice that an abandoned vessel has been taken into 
custody they have 7 days to notify the last title owner and secured party (if known) or last 
registered owner by first-class mail, or personal service, that the vessel is considered 
abandoned. Pursuant to Mich. Comp. Laws § 324.80130(f)(5)(a), the notice must contain:  

(i) The year, make, and vessel identification number of the vessel, if available. 
(ii) The address or approximate location from which the vessel was taken into 

custody. 
(iii) The date on which the vessel was taken into custody. 
(iv) The name and address of the police agency that had the vessel taken into custody 

or received notice of a vessel taken into custody. 
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(v) The name and business address of the custodian of the vessel. 
(vi) The procedure to redeem the vessel. 
(vii) The procedure to contest the fact that the vessel is considered abandoned or the 

reasonableness of the towing fees and daily storage fees. 
(viii) A form petition that the owner may file in person or by mail with the specified 

court having jurisdiction to request a hearing on the validity of the grounds for 
taking custody of the vessel. 

(ix) A warning that if the vessel is not redeemed or a hearing requested within 20 
days after the date of the notice, the vessel may be sold and all rights of the 
owner and the secured party to the vessel or to the proceeds of the sale 
terminated. 

The Secretary of State is also required to enter the information required by the notice into a 
publically accessible website (maintained by the Secretary of State) for a period of one year or 
until the vessel is disposed of (Mich. Comp. Laws § 324.80130(f)(5)(b)).  

The owner of a vessel designated as abandoned by the State has the right to contest the 
designation and the associated fees (towing and storage) by requesting a hearing within 20 
days of receiving the abandonment notice (Mich. Comp. Laws § 324.80130(f)(6)). They can also 
redeem the vessel by posting a bond to cover the towing/storage costs and court fees. Pursuant 
to Mich. Comp. Laws § 324.80130(f)(7), if the owner does not request a hearing they have the 
option of reclaiming the vessel by paying a $40 fee and the accrued towing/storage costs to the 
custodian of the vessel. The custodian, in turn, has to send $25 of the fee to the state within 30 
days for deposit into the abandoned vessel, ORV, and snowmobile fund (see funding section). If 
the vessel owner does not respond to the notice within 20 days the secured party can then 
claim the vessel by paying the custodian the fee and towing/storage costs (Mich. Comp. Laws § 
324.80130(f)(8)).  

Derelict vessels that meet the definition of either a “registered abandoned scrap vessel” or that 
of an “unregistered abandoned scrap vessel” pursuant to Mich. Comp. Laws § 324.80130(g), 
can be disposed of following the procedures outlined in Mich. Comp. Laws § 324.80130(g)(2) 
thru § 324.80130(g)(12). These provisions are similar in scope to those outlined above for 
abandoned vessels including taking custody, checking to see if the vessel was reported stolen, 
sending a notice to the Secretary of State (with 2 photographs and a damage assessment as 
additional requirements), and entering the data into the law enforcement information network.  

Michigan also requires a vessel owner to notify the secretary of state within 15 days if a vessel 
is destroyed, abandoned or sold in which case the certificate of number will be canceled or, if 
sold, transferred to the new owner (Mich. Comp. Laws § 324.80125(1)). 

In addition, under Michigan Administrative code a certificate of title can be applied for by a 
person claiming an abandoned watercraft by submitting an application that includes a certified 
or true copy of the court order indicating the applicant as the legal owner (Mich. Admin. Code r. 
281.2204(1)). Pursuant to Mich. Admin. Code r. 281.2204(2), once the secretary of state 
receives the completed application a certificate of title will be issued.   

Responsibility for Removal of Abandoned or Derelict Vessels 
Under Michigan law if a vessel is designated as abandoned the police or private property owner 
in possession must contact a local towing agency who will take the vessel into custody for 
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removal and storage (Mich. Comp. Laws § 324.80130(f)). This is also required under Mich. 
Comp. Laws § 324.80130(g) for abandoned scrap (derelict) vessels with custody of the vessel 
being transferred to the towing agency by the state for removal and disposal.  

Michigan Comp. Laws § 324.80130(f) states that “a person shall not abandon a vessel in this 
state”. If a vessel is found abandoned in Michigan the state presumes that the last titled owner 
(if there is one) or the last registered owner is the party responsible for the abandonment. Any 
fees and costs (towing, storage and disposal) are the liability of the last known titled or 
registered owner under both Mich. Comp. Laws § 324.80130(f) and § 324.80130(g). If the last 
known titled or registered owner is unknown then the responsibility belongs to the police 
agency or private property owner to cover the costs of removal and/or disposal.  

Removal and Disposal Requirements/Guidelines  
Under Public Act 549, the State of Michigan outlines requirements that must be met before a 
vessel is removed and either sold or disposed. As mentioned in the responsibility section 
(above) the State requires the police or private property owner to contact and transfer custody 
to a towing agency in order to have a vessel removed, stored and/or disposed of. If the vessel 
was found on private property the landowner or lessee must post a notice prior to authorizing 
the towing or removal of the vessel pursuant to Mich. Comp. Laws § 324.80130(o)). The notice 
must be prominently displayed on the property, have 2 inch letters with a contrasting 
background, provide the name and telephone number of the towing service to be used, and be 
permanently installed and maintained for not less than 24 hours before removing the vessel.  

Prior to removing the vessel the towing company is required to notify the police agency, by 
telephone, or otherwise, that the vessel is being moved (Mich. Comp. Laws § 324.80130(f)(10)). 
Under Mich. Comp. Laws § 324.80130(f)(11), if the abandoned vessel is not claimed within 20 
days (of the notice receipt or hearing determination), or the owner cannot be determined 
pursuant to Mich. Comp. Laws § 324.80130(f)(12), it can be sold at public sale by either the 
police agency, if it was found on public property, or by the custodian of the vessel, if found on 
private property. If ownership of an abandoned vessel cannot be determined the police agency 
with jurisdiction can sell the vessel at public sale after 30 days of posting the sale notice. 

The provisions for selling an abandoned vessel at public sale are addressed in Mich. Comp. Laws 
§ 324.80130(k)(1). The vessel must be in control of the police or the custodian (the police can 
designate a third party as custodian) and the public bid sale must take place within 5 days of 
publishing the sale notice. The sale notice must be published at least once in a general 
circulation newspaper (in the county where it was found) or on a public accessible state 
website and include a description of the vessel and the date, time and location of the sale. 
Pursuant to Mich. Comp. Laws § 324.80130(k)(2), monies received from the sale are applied, in 
order, to: 

(a) Accrued towing and storage charges. 
(b) Expenses incurred by the police agency or custodian of the vessel. 
(c) Payment of the $40 abandoned vessel fee. 
(d) Sent to the Department of Treasury’s unclaimed property division to be disbursed to: 

(i) To the secured party, if any, in the amount of the debt outstanding, 
(ii) Remainder to the owner and if the owner cannot be found then the 

remaining money become the property of the local government whose police 
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department entered the vessel into the law enforcements information 
network.  

If there are no bids the police agency or custodian can either turn the vessel over to the towing 
firm or custodian to satisfy the charges (towing, storage and disposal) against the vessel, obtain 
title to the vessel or conduct another sale. If the vessel’s value does not satisfy the charges 
incurred the custodian may collect the additional balance from the last titled or registered 
owner (Mich. Comp. Laws § 324.80130(k)(3)).  

The police agency can have an unregistered scrap vessel certified and released to a towing 
agency for disposal within 24 hours, once it has been determined that a vessel was not 
reported stolen. Disposing of registered scrap vessels requires, in addition, that within 7 days 
after taking custody the Secretary of State must send the abandonment notice (the same as 
required under Mich. Comp. Laws § 324.80130(f)(5)(a)) to the last titled or registered owner 
and secured party (Mich. Comp. Laws § 324.80130(g)(8)). The owner or secured party can then 
request a hearing to contest the designation pursuant to Mich. Comp. Laws § 324.80130(g)(9) 
or redeem the vessel under Mich. Comp. Laws § 324.80130(g)(10) or § 324.80130(g)(11).  

For unregistered abandoned scrap vessels the towing service is required to complete the 
certificate of scrapping (found on the back of the release form) then transfer the form and 
vessel to a scrap metal processor or landfill operator. Once the vessel is disposed of the scrap 
metal processor or landfill operator must transfer the form to the secretary of state (Mich. 
Comp. Laws § 324.80130(g)(5)). For registered abandoned scrap vessels the police agency or 
their designee can have the vessel disposed of following the same procedures as an 
unregistered scrap vessel (Mich. Comp. Laws § 324.80130(g)(12)).   

The secretary of state is required to retain the records relating to an abandoned scrap vessel for 
not less than 2 years and the police agency or the agency's designee must retain the 
photographs of the vessel for the same period (Mich. Comp. Laws § 324.80130(g)(6)). 

Differences between Commercial and Recreational Vessel Treatment 
The only difference in treatment that is addressed under Michigan law is under the provisions 
regulating towing and storage fees (Mich. Comp. Laws § 324.80130(m)). A towing service, 
custodian of the vessel, or both can recover towing and storage fees from the last titled or 
registered owner up to a limit of $1,000; however the limits set under Mich. Comp. Laws § 
324.80130(m)(2) do not apply to commercial vessels or to vessels owned or leased by an entity 
(and not an individual).  

Vessel Size Requirements or Limits  
Michigan statutes do not include provisions that set size requirements or limits on the 
designation or removal/disposal of abandoned or derelict scrap vessels.  

Funding Sources 
Under Public Act 549 (Mich. Comp. Laws § 324.80130(l)) the State of Michigan created an 
Abandoned Vessel, ORV and Snowmobile Fund within the state treasury to fund, by 
appropriation, the administration of sections §80130(f) to §80130(p) of Chapter 324, which 
address abandoned vessels and abandoned scrap vessels (and §81151 and §82161 for off-road 
vehicles and snowmobiles, respectively). The state treasurer may deposit money or assets from 
any source into the fund and a portion of the fees assessed on abandoned vessels ($25) must 
be applied towards the fund.  
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In addition, Michigan has an Underwater Preserve Fund which can be used to fund maritime 
archaeology, promote the Great Lakes bottomland preserves and for enforcement purposes 
(Mich. Comp. Laws § 324.76118).    

Lead State Agency  
Michigan’s Secretary of State is responsible for matters relating to abandoned property. 

 Email: through website 
Telephone: 888-767-6424 
Website: http://www.michigan.gov/sos/0,1607,7-127-1640_14837-123588--,00.html 
and http://services.sos.state.mi.us/autolostandfound/ 

The Department of Environmental Quality (top) and the Department of History, Arts and 
Libraries (bottom) are the lead agencies regarding historical wrecks and abandoned property 
found on the state managed bottomlands of the Great lakes. 

Department of Environmental Quality  
Email: through website 

 Phone: 800-662-9278 
 Website: http://www.michigan.gov/deq/ 

Department of History, Arts and Libraries 
Email: through website 

 Phone: 517-335-4747 
Website: http://www.michigan.gov/mdcs/0,4614,7-147-6879_9324_25457-128760--
,00.html 

Insurance Requirements for Vessels  
Watercraft insurance is only required for commercial vessels carrying passengers.  

Specific Location Factors, Limitations and Additional Information 
Pursuant to Mich. Comp. Laws § 324.80130(h), a vessel can be removed immediately from 
public or private lands to a place of safekeeping at the expense of the last titled owner (if 
known) or registered owner under certain circumstances (see Mich. Comp. Laws § 
324.80130(h)(1)(a) thru § 324.80130(h)(1)(l)). Prior to removal the police must perform a check 
to see if the vessel was stolen, if the vessel was not stolen then the vessel can be removed. 
Some of the circumstances which may pertain to abandoned or derelict vessels are listed below 
(see the full statute for a complete list and additional legal requirements):   

(a) The vessel is in such a condition that the operation of the vessel would constitute an 
immediate hazard to the public. 

(b) The vessel is parked or standing upon a highway, road, or street in a manner that 
creates an immediate public hazard or an obstruction of traffic. 

(f) Removal is necessary in the interest of public safety because of fire, flood, storm, snow, 
natural or man-made disaster, or other emergency. 

(g) The vessel is interfering with the owner's or owner's agent's use of private property or 
is parked in a manner that impedes the movement of another vessel or vehicle. 

(l) The vessel is submerged in, partially submerged in, or floating unanchored or 
untethered upon a public waterway. 

http://www.michigan.gov/sos/0,1607,7-127-1640_14837-123588--,00.html
http://services.sos.state.mi.us/autolostandfound/
http://www.michigan.gov/deq/
http://www.michigan.gov/mdcs/0,4614,7-147-6879_9324_25457-128760--,00.html
http://www.michigan.gov/mdcs/0,4614,7-147-6879_9324_25457-128760--,00.html
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Under Aboriginal Records and Antiquities and  legislation if abandoned property of historical or 
recreational value is found on the state owned bottomlands of the Great Lakes the state has 
the right to claim the property (Mich. Comp. Laws § 324.76102). If a person wants to recover, 
alter or destroy abandoned property within the states jurisdiction over the bottomlands they 
must be issued a permit authorized by the Department of Environmental Quality and the 
Department of History, Arts and Libraries (Mich. Comp. Laws § 324.76107). Violations of this 
law are a crime under Mich. Comp. Laws § 324.76107(4). The actual charge and level of 
punishment depends on the value of the property.  

A person may recover abandoned property outside of state bottomland preserves without a 
permit; however, they may not remove property if it is associated in any way with a sunken 
vessel or aircraft (Mich. Comp. Laws § 324.76108(1)). In order to do so they must first obtain a 
permit (as mentioned above) by filing an application with the Department of Environmental 
Quality pursuant to Mich. Comp. Laws § 324.76109(2). The application must contain:  

(a) The name and address of the applicant. 
(b) The name, if known, of the watercraft or aircraft on or around which recovery 

operations are to occur and a current photograph or drawing of the watercraft or 
aircraft, if available. 

(c) The location of the abandoned property to be recovered and the depth of water in 
which it may be found. 

(d) A description of each item to be recovered. 
(e) The method to be used in recovery operations. 
(f) The proposed disposition of the abandoned property recovered, including the location 

at which it will be available for inspection by the department and the department of 
history, arts, and libraries. 

(g) Other information which the department or the department of history, arts, and 
libraries considers necessary in evaluating the request for a permit. 

If a permit is granted it can come with reasonable and necessary conditions attached 
concerning the recovery and removal of the abandoned property that are intended to protect 
the public trust and general interests of Michigan (Mich. Comp. Laws § 324.76109(4)). These 
include conditions that must accomplish at least one of the following: 

(a) Protect and preserve the abandoned property to be recovered, and the recreational 
value of the area in which recovery is being accomplished. 

(b) Assure reasonable public access to the abandoned property after recovery. 
(c) Conform with rules applying to activities within a Great Lakes bottomlands preserve. 
(d) Prohibit injury, harm, and damage to a bottomlands site or abandoned property not 

authorized for removal during and after salvage operations by the permit holder. 
(e) Prohibit or limit the amount of discharge of possible pollutants, such as floating timbers, 

planking, and other debris, which may emanate from the shipwreck, plane wreck, or 
salvage equipment. 

(f) Require the permit holder to submit a specific removal plan prior to commencing any 
salvaging activities. Among other matters considered appropriate by either the 
department or the department of history, arts, and libraries, or both, the removal plan 
may be required to ensure the safety of those removing or assisting in the removal of 
the abandoned property and to address how the permit holder proposes to prevent, 
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minimize, or mitigate potential adverse effects upon the abandoned property to be 
removed, that portion of the abandoned property which is not to be removed, and the 
surrounding geographic features. 

Pursuant to Mich. Comp. Laws § 324.76110 the permit holder must notify the Department of 
Environmental Quality within 10 days of recovering/removing the abandoned property and 
allow up to 90 days for representatives of the State to inspect the property. If it is then 
determined that the recovered property has no historical value it shall be released to the 
permit holder through a written instrument. If abandoned property, which requires a permit to 
recover, is recovered without a permit it must be turned over to the State (Mich. Comp. Laws § 
324.76107(2)).   

Prioritization Scheme  
Michigan does not have a prioritization scheme in place for removing abandoned or derelict 
vessels. Unlike many states Michigan does have statutes that address abandoned/derelict 
vessels which may pose a public safety or navigational hazard.   

Legislation and Administrative Codes 
The laws and administrative codes referenced in this document can be accessed from: 

Michigan Compiled Laws (2014): 
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(s3gb0kblkimbtesfxfw25zpp))/mileg.aspx?page=chapterindex 

Michigan Administrative Code (2014): 
http://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-35738_5698---,00.html 

 

 These Legislative and Administrative Reviews are intended for informational purposes only. They are summaries and not meant to be legal references, and 
should not be used as such. See the official state statutes and administrative codes for current state laws and rules and regulations for any legal references.     
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