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Definition of a Vessel 
The State of Minnesota provides a definition for “watercraft”, instead of “vessel”, under 
chapter 86B Water Safety and Watercraft (Minn. Stat. § 86B.005): 

 Watercraft: means any contrivance used or designed for navigation on water, except: 
(1) a waterfowl boat during the waterfowl hunting seasons; 
(2) a rice boat during the harvest season; or 
(3) a seaplane. 

Another definition for “watercraft” can be found in Minn. Stat. § 86B.820, which falls under the 
watercraft titling section of chapter 86B: 

Watercraft: means a device used or designed for navigation on water that is greater 
than 16 feet in length, as defined in section 86B.005, subdivision 6, but does not include: 
(1) a row-type fishing boat of single hull construction, with oar locks and an outboard 

motor capacity rating of less than 40 horsepower; 
(2) a canoe; 
(3) a kayak; 
(4) a rowing shell or scull; 
(5) a ship's lifeboat; 
(6) a vessel of at least five net tons measured in Code of Federal Regulations, title 46, 

part 69, that is documented under Code of Federal Regulations, title 46, subpart 
67.01; or 

(7) a seaplane. 

Definition of an Abandoned and/or Derelict Vessel  
Minnesota statutes or administrative codes do not provide a legal definition for “abandoned” 
or “derelict” watercraft. 

Formal State Program for Abandoned Vessels  
The State of Minnesota does not have a formal program for addressing abandoned or derelict 
watercraft. They do have several statutes which are specific to the abandonment of watercraft, 
but these are limited to notification for titling purposes and do not address the abandonment 
of watercraft on public or private property. Minnesota does have some statutory provisions 
that can be applied to abandoned watercraft under abandoned property laws and personal 
property liens. 

Minnesota statutes do not address derelict vessels either but they do have provisions which 
make it mandatory to remove submerged vehicles in state waters under Minn. Stat. § 86B.107. 
If a submerged vehicle is not removed from state waters the owner is subject to a civil penalty 
of 2 to 5 times the cost incurred to remove, process and dispose of the vehicle.  
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Designation of Abandoned and/or Derelict Vessels 
Minnesota law does not contain any provisions for designating vessels which are found on 
public or private property as abandoned or derelict. State law does require the owner of a 
watercraft to provide a written notice within 15 days (on a prescribed form) to the 
Commissioner of Natural Resources if a watercraft is abandoned or destroyed (Minn. Stat. § 
86B.401). 

If a watercraft has been previously issued a license in Minnesota they will not issue a new 
license unless a notice of abandonment on the watercraft was filed at least one year prior or it 
can be satisfactorily proven that the watercraft has been continually outside the state for a 
period of one year (Minn. Stat. § 86B.401(10)). 

Under Minnesota statutes for property, the sheriff of any county may seize and retain personal 
property which has been abandoned on public property (Minn. Stat. § 345.15). If, within 3 
months, the owner of the property fails to claim the property the sheriff can sell it at public 
auction providing they give reasonable notification, which must be published in a county 
newspaper of general circulation. The notification must include a brief description of the 
abandoned property and the time and place of the public sale. The proceeds of the sale go 
towards covering the costs of handling, storage and sale of the property. The remaining monies 
(net proceeds) are then credited to the general revenue fund through the county treasurer. The 
owner can recover the property prior to the sale if they submit a satisfactory application, or if 
the property was already sold, recover the net proceeds.    

In Minnesota if a person comes into the possession of property which is not claimed within 6 
months it will be considered abandoned and become the property of the person in possession 
(Minn. Stat. § 345.75). A 30 days’ notice is required and must be given to and received by the 
prior owner, either personally or by certified mail, informing them that the time period has 
elapsed and that ownership will be transferred. If the owner is not known then 3 weeks 
published notice must be provided in the county where the property is located. The transfer of 
ownership may be stayed by the court and the property reclaimed if the prior owner or another 
person claiming interest successfully petitions the court.  

In addition, if a tenant abandons rented premises the landlord has the right to take possession 
of any of the tenants property remaining on the premises and claim reasonable costs for 
removing, storing and caring for the property (Minn. Stat. § 504B.271(1)(a)). Pursuant to Minn. 
Stat. § 504B.271(1)(b), the landlord can then sell the property 28 days after receiving a notice of 
abandonment or it reasonably appears that the tenant has abandoned the premises. Prior to 
selling the property the landlord must make reasonable efforts to contact the tenant of the sale 
and post notice on the premises (Minn. Stat. § 504B.271(1)(d)). Proceeds of the sale can be 
used to cover the reasonable costs of taking possession of the property with the remaining 
going to the tenant upon request (Minn. Stat. § 504B.271(1)(c)). 

Personal property laws in Minnesota also allow for mechanics liens to be place on property 
(Minn. Stat. § 514.18(1)). If a business takes in personal property at the request of the owner 
for repairs, storage or other services that preserve, care or enhance the value can have a lien 
placed on the property for the price of the services rendered and any associated legal fees. 
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They also have the right to retain possession of the personal property until the lien is lawfully 
settled.  

Responsibility for Removal of Abandoned or Derelict Vessels 
If a vehicle, which includes a watercraft as defined under Minn. Stat. § 86B.005, is submerged in 
state waters the owner is responsible for removing the vehicle, unless the vehicle is permitted 
or exempt from removal (Minn. Stat. § 86B.107). The owner must remove the vehicle with 30 
days of the vehicle entering or being discovered in the water. The political subdivision having 
jurisdiction can, by written notice, require that the vehicle is removed sooner or, upon request, 
extend the 30 day removal period (Minn. Stat. § 86B.107(2)(a)).  

In Minnesota, when a vehicle becomes submerged the owner is required to report the date and 
circumstances leading to the submergence to the county sheriff within 48 hours (Minn. Stat. § 
86B.107(2)(b)). Pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 86B.107(2)(c), if a submerged vehicle is not removed 
within the allotted time period the political subdivision with jurisdiction over the water 
becomes responsible for removing the vehicle and the owner is then subject to a civil penalty of 
2 to 5 times the cost incurred during the removal, processing and final disposition of the vessel. 
The owner is not responsible for removing the submerged vehicle under these provisions if the 
vehicle was used without their consent (Minn. Stat. § 86B.107(2)(d)). If this occurs then the 
responsibility for removing the vehicle is transferred to the unauthorized driver or operator, if 
known.  

Removal and Disposal Requirements/Guidelines  
The State of Minnesota does not have any statutory removal or disposal requirements for 
abandoned or derelict watercraft. They only stipulate that a vehicle submerged in state waters 
must be removed (Minn. Stat. § 86B.107). 

Differences between Commercial and Recreational Vessel Treatment 
Minnesota does not distinguish between commercial and recreational watercraft in any of the 
provisions addressing abandoned property or removing submerged watercraft.   

Vessel Size Requirements or Limits  
Minnesota statutes do not contain provisions that specifically address size requirements of 
limits for designating watercraft as abandoned or derelict. Under Minn. Stat. § 86B.820-14, 
which pertains to watercraft titling, they define a watercraft as being greater than 16 feet in 
length.  

Funding Sources 
The State of Minnesota does not currently have any funding sources which are used for issues 
related to abandoned or derelict watercraft.  

Lead State Agency  
Because Minnesota does not have laws regulating the designation or removal of abandoned or 
derelict vessels there is not a lead agency in the state. Boats that are submerged in state waters 
are the responsibility of the owners or are under local government jurisdiction. 

The Department of Natural Resources is responsible for watercraft safety and titling. 

Email: info.dnr@state.mn.us 
Phone: 888-646-6367: 
Website: http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/index.html 

http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/index.html
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Insurance Requirements for Vessels  
Watercraft insurance is not required in Minnesota under state law. Watercraft over 16 feet are 
required to be titled in the state pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 86B.825.  

Specific Location Factors, Limitations and Additional Information  
Minnesota’s submerged vehicle removal provisions, under Minn. Stat. § 86B.107, specifically 
address removal requirements for watercraft that are submerged in state waters; however they 
do not provide for the removal of abandoned watercraft or those left in a derelict condition 
upon state or private lands.  

Prioritization Scheme  
Lacking a formal program the State of Minnesota does not have a prioritization scheme for 
removing abandoned or derelict vessels. Minnesota statutes also do not provide for the 
removal of watercraft when they are a public safety or navigation hazard.  

Legislation and Administrative Codes 
The laws and administrative codes referenced in this document can be accessed from: 

Minnesota Statues (2015): 
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/ 

Minnesota Administrative Rules (2015): 
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/ 

 

 

 

These Legislative and Administrative Reviews are intended for informational purposes only. They are summaries and not meant to be legal references, and 
should not be used as such. See the official state statutes and administrative codes for current state laws and rules and regulations for any legal references.     
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