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Definition of a Vessel

The State of New Hampshire defines “vessel” for registration and numbering purposes under
N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 270-E:2. They also make the distinction between a “commercial” and
“private” vessel (and boat); however, both fall within the definition for vessel as follows:

|II

Vessel: means every description of watercraft, other than seaplanes, used or capable of
being used as a means of transportation on water.

III

New Hampshire statutes also provide a definition for “vessel” under legislation enacted for the
Pease Development Authority, which was established to manage the redevelopment of the
former Pease Air Force Base property (N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 12-G:2):

Vessel: means boats of all sizes propelled by sail, machinery, or hand, scows, dredgers,
shellfish cars, barges, seaplanes, personal water craft, and craft of every kind, including
but not limited to non-displacement craft, used or capable of being used as a means of
transportation or storage on water.

Definition of an Abandoned and/or Derelict Vessel

New Hampshire statutes do not provide explicit definitions for “abandoned” or “derelict”
vessels; however, they do have a provision that defines abandonment as it relates to vessels
under N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 270-B:2.

Abandonment: Any boat found unattended in a sunken, beached, or drifting condition
shall be deemed abandoned by the owner.

In addition, provisions under the Pilots and Harbor Masters section of the Pease Development
Authority (N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 12-G:50(l)), state that:

“Any vessel found unattended in a sunken, beached, or drifting condition, or otherwise
anchored and unattended in such a manner as to pose a threat to navigation or the
safety of the public or other vessels shall be deemed abandoned by the owner.”

Formal State Program for Abandoned Vessels

The State of New Hampshire does not currently have a formal abandoned/derelict vessel
program. They do have statutes, which are administered through the commissioner of the
Department of Safety and enforced by the Marine Patrol, that specifically address abandoned
boats under N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 270-B. The provisions under chapter 270-B define
abandonment, establish jurisdiction and impoundment authority, set notification and
redemption requirements, and address liability and disposal procedures. In addition, statutes
under the Pease Development Authority provide regulations addressing abandoned vessels
within the state’s ports and harbors and in the jurisdiction of the authority (N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann.
§ 12-G:50).

Under New Hampshire statutes it is prohibited to abandon any boat at any time on the waters
of the state (N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 270-B:1). However, penalties for abandoning a vessel are not
established under this chapter. Under the Pease Development Authority statutes it is also
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unlawful to abandon any vessel at any time on state tidal waters (N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 12-G:
50-1). Pursuant to N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 12-G:52, the penalties for illegally mooring or anchoring
a vessel on property under the jurisdiction of the development authority include fines ranging
from a violation with a $100 fine (first offense) to a class B misdemeanor with a minimum $500
fine (third offense).

In addition, pursuant to the provisions of N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 485-A, if a person fails to
remove a submerged vehicle/vessel, as required by law, they are guilty of a violation that can
result in fines of $500 for every day the vehicle remains in the water. In addition, they can be
charged with a class B felony if the vehicle is submerged in the source, or tributary to the
source, of the domestic water supply system. It is also unlawful, under N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. §
485-A:15, for any person to put or place, or cause to be put or placed, any solid waste into the
surface waters of the state (and ice covering them) or on the banks of these waters. Any person
who recklessly violates this provision can be charged with a misdemeanor, while any person
who purposely or knowingly does so shall be guilty of a class B felony.

Designation of Abandoned and/or Derelict Vessels

New Hampshire laws do not outline a formal process for designating vessels as abandoned or
derelict. If a vessel meets the definition of an abandoned vessel under N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. §
270-B:2, it can be removed, impounded and disposed of in the interest of public safety. If a
vessel is declared abandoned under N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 270-B, the director of state police is
required to notify the owner, if known, of the impoundment, removal and storage of the vessel.
If the boat is registered in New Hampshire the notification will be mailed to the last registered
owner. If they are unable to determine an owner then the statue requires the notice to be
published in a newspaper of general circulation and placed on file with the director of motor
vehicles (N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 270-B:4). Pursuant to N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 270-B:5, the owner
of a vessel designated as abandoned can redeem the boat within 90 days after its removal if
they pay the associated fees and are released from any liens identified pursuant to N.H. Rev.
Stat. Ann. § 270-B:3.

Under N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 485-A:14 the lawful owner(s) of any petroleum-powered vehicle,
which include motorized boats, or petroleum containers are required by law to remove the
vehicle or container within 48 hours, or as soon as safety or weather conditions permit, if they
become partially or completely submerged in the surface waters of the state. The owner is also
required to notify the Department of Environmental Services pursuant to N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. §
146-A, at which point the department will investigate the area for contamination and ensure
the vehicle or container is safely removed. If the owner refuses to remove the submerged
vehicle or container, or if the owner cannot be identified, the Department of Environmental
Services can contract out for its removal.

Pursuant to N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 485-A, the owner of the submerged vehicle becomes liable
for all costs associated with its removal an impoundment and is also responsible for paying the
costs incurred for the investigation, containment/cleanup and corrective measures. The state
can attempt to recover the costs through an action of debt by the attorney general of the state.
The state will not release the vessel to the owner until all costs incurred by the state have been
paid. Contractors who impound vessels for the state must receive approval by the state prior to
disposing of the vessel pursuant to N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 262:36-A. If the owner is not known
the vessel can be disposed of through an appropriate salvage yard.
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Under the provisions of N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 485-A, if a person fails to remove a submerged
vehicle/vessel, as required by law, they are guilty of a violation that can result in fines of $500
for every day the vehicle remains in the water. In addition, they can be charged with a class B
felony if the vehicle is submerged in the source, or tributary to the source, of the domestic
water supply system.

New Hampshire statutes require the owner of any vessel to notify the Department of Safety
within 15 days if a vessel has been transferred, destroyed or abandoned (N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. §
270-E:10). If the vessel is destroyed or abandoned the certificate numbers will be terminated by
the state.

The state of New Hampshire also has laws which address abandoned vehicles, under N.H. Rev.
Stat. Ann. § 262, that could be applied to abandoned vessels if the waterway in which the
vessel is abandoned is considered a “way” under the definitions provided in N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann.
§ 259.

Responsibility for Removal of Abandoned or Derelict Vessels

When a vessel meets the definitions of abandoned pursuant to N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 270-B:2,
the director of state police or an authorized representative may impound and remove the
vessel to a place of safe keeping. All reasonable charges associated with the impoundment,
removal, and storage will be placed in lien against the vessel (N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 270-B:3).
Any person who impounds a vessel under the provisions of N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 270-B is
exempt from liability for any damages that may result during the impoundment, removal or
storage (N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 270-B:6). Any person who impounds a vessel pursuant to N.H.
Rev. Stat. Ann. § 12-G:52(b) cannot be held liable for any damages to the vessel arising from the
removal or storage.

Removal and Disposal Requirements/Guidelines

New Hampshire statutes do not contain provisions that specify the methods of how an
abandoned or derelict vessel must be removed or disposed of. They do provide provisions,
under N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 270-B:7, which allow for the destruction or public sale of an
abandoned vessel but not the method of disposal. Pursuant to N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 270-B:6, if
a vessel designated as abandoned is not claimed by the owner within 90 days after removal the
director of the state police can destroy the vessel, sell it by public auction, or retain the vessel
for use by the state (N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 270-B:7). If the vessel is sold at auction the purchaser
becomes responsible for paying the costs, and satisfying the lien(s), associated with the
impoundment, removal and storage of the vessel. If the state retains possession they become
responsible for the associated costs. Any money received from the public sale of abandoned
vessels goes into the New Hampshire general fund.

Differences between Commercial and Recreational Vessel Treatment
New Hampshire statutes do not differentiate between commercial and recreational vessels for
the purposes of their abandoned or sunken vessel laws.

Vessel Size Requirements or Limits
There are no defined size requirements or limits in New Hampshire’s statutes addressing
abandoned or derelict vessels.
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Funding Sources

The State of New Hampshire, lacking a formal abandoned and derelict vessel program, does not
have a dedicated mechanism for funding the processing and removal of abandoned or derelict
vessels. The costs associated with the removal, storage and disposal of abandoned vessels are
the responsibility of the last registered owner; however, if the owner cannot be identified then
the State or the purchaser (if the vessel is sold) become responsible for paying the costs and
releasing the liens on the vessel (N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 270-B:7).

Lead State Agency
The Department of Safety administers the abandoned vessel program in New Hampshire.

Email: through website
Telephone: 603-223-3889
Website: http://www.nh.gov/safety/

The New Hampshire Marine Patrol, a division of the state police, also deals with enforcement
matters concerning abandoned and sunken vessels.

Email: marinepatrol@dos.nh.gov
Telephone: 877-642-9700
Website: http://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/nhsp/fob/marine-patrol/index.html

The Division of Ports and Harbors of the Pease Development Authority (PDA) has authority
when abandoned boats are located in the state’s ports and harbors or within the Pease
Development boundaries.

Email: contact@peasedev.org
Telephone: 603-433-6088
Website: http://www.peasedev.org/

Insurance Requirements for Vessels
New Hampshire does not require vessel insurance. They do require that all vessels are
registered in the state pursuant to N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 270-E:3.

Specific Location Factors, Limitations and Additional Information

Legislation under N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 12-G:2, statutes dealing with the Pease Development
Authority, only provides jurisdiction within the boundaries of the former Pease Air Force base
and within the states ports and harbors. Provisions under this chapter do not apply to state
waters outside of the authority, which are administered through the Department of Safety.

A vessel can also be classified as abandoned under the Pease Development Authority if it falls
within the definition provided under N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 12-G:50. Under the provisions of
N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 12G:43, the Division of Ports and Harbors for the State of New Hampshire
was established within the Pease Development Authority and is subject to the direction and
control of the Authorities’ board and directors. Pursuant to N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 12-G:50(a), it
is unlawful for any person, at any time, to abandon a vessel on or in state tidal waters. Any
vessel found sunken, beached, anchored and unattended, or drifting that poses a threat to
navigation, other vessels or public safety will be designated as abandoned.

Pursuant to N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 12-G:52(b), any vessel found to be in violation of the
provisions under N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 12-G:50(a) can be impounded and stored by the Director
of the Division of Ports and Harbors or a chief or deputy chief harbor master. All reasonable
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costs incurred during the impoundment, including removal and storage costs, will constitute a
lien against the vessel. Any owner or operator who leaves a vessel moored or anchored in
violation of N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 12-G is subject to penalties ranging from $100 to $1000,
depending on the number of offenses (N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 12-G: 52(a)).

If a vessel is impounded under the provisions of N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 12-G: 50(b) the Director
of Ports and Harbors must notify the owner, if known, of the impoundment. If the vessel is
registered in New Hampshire the notification will be mailed to the address on the registration.
In all other cases the notice must be published in a newspaper of general circulation and filed
with the division director. The owner may reclaim the vessel within 90 days of the removal,
providing they pay all the charges and fees associated with the impoundment, removal and
storage. If the vessel is not claimed within 90 days the vessel can be disposed of by public
auction, retained for use by the state, or destroyed. If the vessel is sold at auction or retained
by the state the purchaser or state, respectively, are then responsible for covering the costs and
releasing the lien associated with impounding, removing and storing the vessel. Any monies
received through a public sale must be deposited into the Pease Development Authority ports
and harbor fund (established under N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 12-G:37).

Vessels abandoned in public boatyards, marine dealerships or similar places are addressed
under N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 450-A:5. Any person who maintains a dealership, public boatyard
or the like have the right to place liens on abandoned vessels for rent and other reasonable
charges as long as the vessel remains in their possession. If the vessel remains unclaimed for a
period of 30 days it can be reported as unclaimed to the nearest police department. If the
vessel remains unclaimed for 90 days it can be sold at public auction by the person/business in
possession. Notice of the sale must be posted 14 days prior to the sale in at least 2 public places
in the locality where the vessel is stored. The vessel can be reclaimed by the owner at any time
during the 90 day period providing they pay the charges and satisfy any liens. If the vessel is
sold any proceeds remaining, after payment of the lien and expenses incident to the sale, shall
be paid to the owner (or legal representative) if claimed within one year of the sale; however, if
the monies remain unclaimed they will be transferred into the state’s treasury.

Prioritization Scheme
The State of New Hampshire does not currently have a prioritization scheme for the removal
and disposal of abandoned or derelict vessels.

Legislation and Administrative Codes

The laws and administrative codes referenced in this document can be accessed from:

New Hampshire Revised Statues (2015):
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/indexes/

New Hampshire Code of Administrative Rules (2012):
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rules/

These Legislative and Administrative Reviews are intended for informational purposes only. They are summaries and not meant to be legal references, and
should not be used as such. See the official state statutes and administrative codes for current state laws and rules and requlations for any legal references.
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